29. August 2017

Awards and grants

Winner of the Nordic Gerontology Prize (Sohlberg Prize)

  • The 2018 winner of the prestigious Nordic Gerontology Prize (Sohlberg Prize) is Professor Taina Rantanen! Read more

The Nordic Gerontological Federation (NGF) invites for nominations of candidates for the prestigious Nordic Gerontology Prize (the Sohlberg Prize).

The prize of 10.000 euros is sponsored by the Päivikki and Sakari Sohlberg Foundation and will be awarded at the Opening Ceremony of the 24th Nordic Congress of Gerontology in Oslo.

The prize is relevant for all aging sciences and is awarded to a scientist active in a Nordic country who is a leader in gerontology with a major influence on the development of her/his field in aging research. To be considered, the candidate should have built a strong research group or initiated research of major importance for developments in gerontology. The nomination must include reasons for the nomination (described on a half to a full A4 page), in addition to a curriculum vitas and a publication list of the candidate. Self-applications are not accepted.

The prize will be awarded by a jury including the president and the two vice presidents of NGF and the two most recent prize-winners. The nomination should be sent electronically to the NGF president Professor Marja Jylhä by e-mail: Marja.Jylha@uta.fi no later than December 15, 2017.

Previous recipients of the Sohlberg prize (or the Nordic Rhône- Poulenc Rorer Prize or the Nordic Aventis Prize, as it was called in the beginning):
2016 Kaare Christensen
2014 Timo Strandberg
2012 Kaisu Pitkälä
2010  Laura Fratiglioni
2008 Yngve Gustafson
2006 Knut Engedal
2004 Stig Berg
2002 Bengt Winblad
2000 Reijo Tilvis
1998 Birgitta Odén
1996 Eino Heikkinen
1994 Carl-Gerhard Gottfries


Winner of NGF prize for promising researcher in gerontology

  • The 2018 prize for promising researcher in gerontology is Dr. Ólöf Guðný Geirsdóttir! Read more

At the 24th Congress of Gerontology in Oslo, the NGF prize for promising researcher in gerontology will be handed out for the 3rd time. The prize will be offered to a candidate from the country that will host the next Nordic Congress of Gerontology, which is Iceland. Thus, only candidates from Iceland are eligible this time.

  • The proposed candidate shall not hold a senior position but should preferably have concluded a PhD.
  • A member association of NGF can nominate the candidate to the prize. The proposed nomination must include reasons for nomination and a CV. Self-applications are not accepted.
  • The jury consists of the three presidents of the NGF and the chairs of the scientific committees in the current and for the next congress.
  • The prize-winner will receive an amount of 20.000 SEK and give a lecture at a ceremony during the congress in Oslo.
  • The prize-winner will not pay any registration fee at the 24th congress. Expenses for travel (in economy if by flight) and accommodation during the congress will be paid by NGF.
  • The nomination with all relevant information shall be sent to the NGF president Professor Marja Jylhä by e-mail: Marja.Jylha@uta.fi no later than December 15, 2017.

Announcement – Grants for 24NKG participation

The Nordic Gerontological Federation (NGF) offers 13 grants for participation at the 24NKG, two grants for each Nordic country and one for each of the three Baltic countries.

  • The grants are targeting those who have difficulties in raising funds to cover their cost of attending the 24NKG. The grants can only be applied for by PhD Candidates and junior researchers in gerontology and geriatrics.
  • Grant applicants must submit an abstract according to the guidelines and through the online system of the 24NKG. Grants are not award without an approved abstract. Deadline for abstract submission is December 15 2017.
  • A separate grant application should be submitted to the Secretary General of the 24NKG Marijke Veenstra by e-mail: marijke.veenstra@nova.hioa.no, no later than December 15 2017.
  • Grant applications must include the following information: name, age, education, employment, title of submitted abstract and reason for applying.
  • The application will be evaluated by the local scientific committee, the president of the congress and the president of the NGF.
  • Each grant is SEK 5.000. In addition, those who are selected do not need to pay the congress registration fee.